Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Presentation of Merit Awards 2013




Brendan McLoughlin

Presentation of Merit Awards 2013

Guests at the INFC Merit Awards night, Derek Partridge, Mr & Mrs Tyerman and Ian Crammond.


The Irish National Flying Club held their second presentation night on Friday 3 January in the Dunsilly Hotel in Antrim. Framed Diplomas were awarded for birds achieving Open results on two occasions from the Friendship National and Grand National King’s Cup races.

The number of awards presented was down from 30 last year to 11 this year but this presentation in only its fourth year has become a very important date in the pigeon calendar. The guests for the evening were Mr & Mrs John Tyerman, Ian Crammond and Derek Partridge. The evening includes a buffet and a quiz panel, which this year included guests for the evening, JohnTyerman and Derek Partridge, along with William and Leslie McCaw from Dervock.

 The evening began with the Helen Marshall and Rosemary Mulholland of the INFC Charity Committee presenting cheques for £3,000 to the NI Children’s Hospice and the NI Adult Hospice, while John Edgar, INFC Show secretary presented a cheque for £1,000 to the Southern Area Hospice in Newry.

Kells & District fanciers presented a cheque for £1,200 to the Macmillan Nurses.

While the winning of these awards are in themselves quite an achievement all these birds are now candidates for ‘Hall of Fame’ or ‘Friendship Triple’ Awards next year.

I would like to congratulate all the winners and make a special mention of Willie Corrigan, Loughall who won 3 awards from the Friendship National this year.

Merit Awards were won as follows:

King's Cup: W English Lisburn & Dist, Blue Cock, GB 09 L 10861, Plaudren Vannes 2011 99th Open, St Allouestre 2013 156th Open; G Benson Lisburn & Dist, Blue Cheq Pied Hen, GB 09 L 11019, Plaudren Vannes 2011 210th Open, St Allouestre 2013 217th Open; J McGrugan & Son Doagh & Dist, ‘King Jimmy, Blue Cock, GB 10 N 95592, Plaudren Vannes 2012- 64th Open, St Allouestre 2013 128th Open; P.J .Corcoran Balbriggan RPC, ‘Jessy’s Dream’, Blue Hen IHU 10 S 54334, Plaudren Vannes 2012 - 21st Open, St Allouestre 2013 50th Open; S Kane Newry & Dist, ‘Inspirational’, Blue Cheq Cock, GB 11 A 21090, Plaudren Vannes 2012 23rd Open, St Allouestre 2013 27th Open; L Magee & Son Lisburn & Dist, ‘Van the Man’, Blue Cheq Cock, GB 11 H 29953, Plaudren Vannes 2012 4th Open, St Allouestre 2013 85th Open:


Friendship National: W Corrigan Loughall HPS, Blue Cheq W/F Hen GB 11 L 04684, Quimper 2012 26th Open, Quimper 2013 5th Open; W Corrigan Loughall HPS, Grizzle Hen, GB 11 L 04654, Quimper 2012 45th Open, Quimper 2013 12th Open; W Corrigan Loughall HPS, Blue Hen, GB 11 L 04681, Quimper 2012 - 56th Open, Quimper 2013 35th Open; A McAteer & Sons Ballyholland HPS, ‘Lucky 13’, Blue Bar Cock, GB 09 F 31528, Quimper 2012 99th Open, Quimper 2013 13th Open; G & I McBride Drumnavaddy HPS, ‘Boomerang’, Blue Cheq Pied Cock, GB 11 D 14761, Quimper 2012 56th Open, Quimper 2013 65th Open; W G Neill Annaghmore, Black Pied Hen, GB 11 P 40547, Quimper 2012 25th Open, Quimper 2013 31st Open:


The De Scheemaecker Trophy for runner up to the National Champion for best average all National races was presented to C & L Woodside Ballyclare & Dist and the French Diploma for best average Portland OB Derby and St Allouestre Kings Cup was presented to C & H Beattie Gilford & Dist.


We would like to thank our guests Mr & Mrs Tyerman, Ian Crammond and Derek Partridge for travelling over from England in quite treacherous weather conditions.

C & L Woodside, Ballyclare & Dist, winners of the De Scheemaecker Trophy.

C & H Beattie, Gilford & Dist, winners of the French Diploma.

S Kane, Newry & Dist.

Willie Corrigan, winner of 3 awards, presented by Derek Partridge assisted by David Black INFC Chairman.

Willie English, Lisburn & Dist.

Gary Benson, Lisburn and Dist.

J McGrugan, Doagh & Dist.

PJ Corcoran, Balbriggan.

G & I McBride, Drumnavaddy.

Helen Marshall and Rosemary Mulholland of the INFC Charity Committee present £3,000 cheques to NI Children's Hospice and NI Hospice Reps.

Kells & Dist Chairman Brian Swann and Treasurer Alan Shanks present a cheque for £1200 to the MacMillan Nurses.

Ron McKelvey from Newry collects the Charity Committee's cheque for Southern Area Hospice from John Edgar and Samuel Briggs

William and Leonard McCaw from Dervock RPS, panel members at the Moot.

Thanks to Homer for the photographs.


Over the next few weeks I intend to do reports on the Gold Medal and Hall of Fame winners from 2013.

Brendan McLoughlin