Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

2013 Prize Presentation - Part 2




Brendan McLoughlin

2013 Prize Presentation - Part 2

The Irish National Flying Club Annual dinner and presentation of prizes took place on Friday 29th November in the Stormont Hotel Belfast. Once again this was a great night with the crème de la crème of National racing in Ireland in attendance. Last week we featured the National winners, the National Champion and the winners of the best two bird average in the King’s Cup and Friendship Nationals.

This week we feature the other cup winners and will follow this up in the next few weeks with the Hall of Fame, Gold Medal, Silver Medal, Triple Award diploma winners and the Triple Crown winners. I hope to gather some details on these birds as it always make interesting reading over the winter months.

Ronnie Johnston was MC for the prize distribution and provided us with a wealth of information on the various performances. Some that stuck in my head were that William McCaw’s winner of the Single bird Challenge was his Hall of Fame winner. Maurice Wilkinson on winning the Ervine Trophy for best average OB Nationals from Quimper and St Allouestre was 3rd Open in the Friendship National and 8th Open in the King’s Cup. The two pigeons that won the best two bird average in the Friendship National for Kevin Carolan were 6th and 7th Open, while the two birds that won the Harkness Rosebowl for best two bird average in the King’s Cup for Rev T.A.B. Sawyers and Son were 11th and 16th Open.

Joe Brown had the best two bird average from the Yearling National with birds at 1st and 8th Open with 4139 birds competing.

When Ronnie Williamson, this year’s King’s Cup winner, was called to receive the Rhead Trophy for best average in St Allouestre OB and Penzance Nationals Ronnie Johnston told us that this was the 4th time that he had won this particular trophy.

Thanks to Robin Tierney and Sid Collins for their help with the photos for this report.

Willie Capper and his son Glen of Capper Bros Bondhill winners of the J Gilmour Memorial Trophy and Diamond Cup

Danny O'Neill of Arklow 1st South section Skibbereen YB National

Wayne Doonan of Doonan & McGuinness, Dromore winners of the Charles Hunniford Memorial Trophy

Arnold Thompson of Ballyclare & Dist winner of the Robin Duddy Trophy

The Maguire Family receive the Ulster Federation Cup on behalf of the late James Maguire, Grosvenor

 Blaine McEvoy (G & P McEvoy) of Castlebellingham 1st East Coast Fed member in the King's Cup

William McCaw of Ballymoney, winner of the OB Single Bird Challenge King's Cup

Adrian Grant of N Grant & Son of Balbriggan 1st member in section not winning Open in Friendship National


Mr & Mrs C Hayes of Ballyclare Best 2-Bird Average in the Channel YB National


 Owen Kirwan of Gorey 1st South Section Sennen Cove Yearling National

Philip & Joe Boal of Dromore 1st North section Skibbereen OB National

Norman Lewis of A & N Lewis of Doagh & Dist 2nd Open Friendship National


Leslie Woodside of Ballyclare & Dist winner of Robinson Cup 14th Open King's Cup

Cyril & Hilary Beattie of Gilford 1st RPRA member after the winner in the King's Cup


Joe Maghery of Arklow 1st IHU member after the winner in the King's Cup


Sean & Jenifer Milligan of Tyrella 1st EDC member in King's Cup

Merit Awards Presentation


The Merit Awards Presentation will take place on Friday 3rd January in the Dunsilly Hotel Antrim with a 6.30pm start. Tickets for the evening are £10 which includes supper. Guests for the night are John Tyerman from Bracklesham Bay, Ian Crammond from Fontwell and Derek Partridge of Manchester. Derek is a former Manchester City footballer and has spent over 30 years at the club in various guises. He has offered a signed City jersey and other Man City memorabilia for the raffle on the night.

John Tyerman got into pigeons as a boy through his grandfather in Dumfries and has raced pigeons nearly all his life except when he was away for 4 years in Hong Kong. He is a founder member and past President of the London and South East Classic Club, and has served on the National Flying Club committee for 9 years. He has been a member of the British Barcelona Club for over 30 years and is currently serving as President. John tells me that they now have over 1300 members and 33 are from Ireland. John has had ‘reasonable’ success in racing and has cultivated a family of the old Carmichael/Kirkpatrick and Eric Canton pigeons which have won many positions in Classic, National and International races flying in 500/600 miles events. He is also a winner of the Central Southern Tarbes Classic (520 miles) only 4 day pigeons and then twice winner (2011 and 2013) of the Barcelona Challenge One Loft race, flying 625miles to the lofts in France.

John and Ian have both promised birds for auction on the night and these will be available for collection at the Blackpool Show.

The panel for the moot is John Tyerman, Derek Partridge and W & L McCaw of Dervock Gold Medal winners with the INFC. This has become another very popular night.


Brendan McLoughlin