Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Lanarkshire Social Circle Pres 2018

Lanarkshire Social Circle Presentation 2018

Members and friends attended the Avonbridge Hotel in Hamilton.It was an excellent turn out to congratulate this year?s winners. Fanciers travelled from the up and down the country to enjoy this night!

This year?s top table included guest speaker Jim Leishman of Scottish football fame and Dave Jamieson of East Calder," top Scottish National flyers over the last decade" And this year?s Scottish National Flying Clubs Gold Cup winner Willie Borthwick of Annan.

Both fanciers done a first class job, having some nice words to say about each of the winning fanciers.

The social circle is one of the most prestigious clubs in the land and deserves the best of Scotland's fanciers to present our winners.
The club sets its standards high and the quality of fanciers is second to none!.
This year was a brilliant year for members with top performances in the National programme.

This club was based on distance flying and its geared around the SNFC races.
The Lanarkshire Social Circle Gold Cub is the "" holy grail of cups" Eagerly pursued and sought after.
You have to compete in the most testing races to win this trophy.

The club is convoyed by the Lanarkshire federation and we thank them for their service. So great weekly race competition is available up to the nominated gold cup races.

This year?s Gold Cup winner is Jim Wilkinson of Airdrie ,who recently started gearing his racing on National racing. Just to say Jim and Wullie Borthwick model their pigeon management on good friend Dave Jamiesons system of racing.

Jim has agreed to a loft report later this year so watch out for this. Sure to be an interesting read from a fancier who won the trophy flying only twenty one birds. Brilliant Jim!

We had a great spread of members winning trophies which is always great for the health of a club. Well done to all the cup winners.

The club has always been based on social activity and President Ronnie Reid and Secretary Dave McCaig keep the high standards of the club as did their predecessors.

The night flowed well with Jim Cullen and Ronnie Reid at their usual comedy act. If you win a trophy ,this usually means you have to run the gauntlet from these lads. Thick skin is always required for this night.

Jim Leishman was excellent in his delivery about his career as a top footballer and manager. The big man really was the real deal!

The committee would like to thank everyone for their attendance and the guests. Hope to see everyone back for the clubs next social.

The members would like to thank Dave McCaig for his fine work as club secretary.

Lanarkshire Social Circle bird of the year "Denman" ,a true flying machine for GWP Macaloney

Trophy winners 2018

1 William Young Cup -G Baird

George Baird(L) presented by Jim Cullen, Young George has received respect from his fellow fanciers with his top results in a short time in the sport. The one to watch!

2 Inland Old Bird Average -J Cullen

Dave McCaig presents Jim Cullen(R),Jim has a brilliant record at any distance!

3 Allason Cup -J Leggate

Willie Borthwick presents John Leggate(L) .John is a gentleman! but also shows he can win at the top.

4 Daily Express Cup-J Meikle

5 Robert McKendrick Cup -J Warwick & Son
6 Morgan Memorial Cup - J Warwick & Son

Dave McCaig presents Jim Warwick(R),Great to see this south Lanarkshire partnership get their rewards

7 Friendship Cup -D Hay

8 News of the World Cup -J & I Alison

9 Archie Miller Cup-J & I Alison

10 Gold Cup - J Wilkinson

Jim Wilkinson (L) being presented the famous gold cup by Dave Jamieson

11 William Warwick Cup - J Meikle

12 J L Muir Cup -Not won

13 Rodger Points Cup-J Cullen

14 Young Bird Cup -W Gordon
15 Telfer Cup -W Gordon

Billy Gordon (L) being presented by Jim Cullen ,Billy Gordon is a top fancier and recent past winner of the Gold Cup & News of the Word trophies

16 Daily Record Cup - D Hay

17 Tennent Trophy -M & J Miller

18 Dr Anderson Championship Cup - Not won

19 Robert Telfer Mem Trophy -GWP Macaloney

Dave McCaig presents Paul Macaloney(R),GWP Macaloney ,possible the best in Europe

20 Ernie McCaig Trophy - J Cameron

21 Andrew Deans Trophy - D Hay

22 Sammy Cowan Trophy - J Meikle

Willie Borthwick presents Jim Meikle(L),Jim is starting to get noticed with his excellent performances.

23 Willie Wilson Memorial Trophy -H Wallace

Hugh Wallace(R) presented by Dave Jamieson. Hugh has showed it can be achieved in the west of the country!

24 Millenium Trophy -Eadie& Kelly

Ronnie Reid presents Andy Eadie (R) Andy the "Bellside Wizard" has a great record at any distance!

25 Ian McDonough Trophy- M & J O Hara

26 Deans Family Memorial Trophy - D Hay

27 Hugh Brown Trophy -D Hay
28 George Rankin Trophy - D Hay

Willie Borthwick presents Derek Hay (L),Derek had an outstanding year at the distance, up there with the best!


John Alston(L) presented by Dave Jamieson, John is a household name in National racing!

Tom Corrie jnr
Lanarkshire Press Officer