Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Lanarkshire News 09-02-18

Lanarkshire news-Dalzell Flying Club Prize Presentation / Quiz

Dalzell club in the heart of good old Lanarkshire has now established one of the best social events on the calendar. With top organisation from Douglas Telfer and his team,you are never disappointed with their presentation and quiz night.  Fanciers have placed this event on their social calendar.

The event is held in the  comfortable surroundings of the Campbell Lounge of the Motherwell Miners Club with an excellent dinner from First Choice Catering. 

Photo left to right ....John King, Jim Latimer(Secretary), Douglas Telfer(President), Jim Cassidy, Joe Boyle(Vice  President and Race Secretary), Willie McDonald(Principal Prizewinner) and Allan Selfridge.

 The panel members were among the top fanciers in Scotland , namely John Bosworth Elphinstone, John Hood Milton of Campsie, Tom McLeod Elphinstone and John Duthie Dundee , whose collective record included five Scottish National wins (including three Gold Cups). 

Panel Photo left to right...Tom McLeod, John Bosworth, Jim Latimer (Secretary), John Duthie, and John Hood.

Their responses were not only interesting and informative but humorous and nostalgic with a combined pigeon racing experience of nearly 200 years.  A favourite question asked every year ..."Who in the panel's opinion was the best fancier they have met?" All agreed they had met many fine fanciers over the years but if pushed to restrict their answer the result would be; John Bosworth....Donaldson Bros , Dunbar.      John Hood......John Allan, Symington but a contemporary fancier would be John Bosworth.     John Duthie.... John Ellis, Dundee with runner up Woodruff Bros , N.E. England.     Tom McLeod....the late Eddie Newcombe.  

Dalzell's principal Prizewinner this year (as in 2016) was Willie McDonald with 10 trophies and 3 firsts (including the O.B. Average), hotly pursued by  Jim Latimer with 7 trophies and 1st Bedhampton , 5th Open Lanarkshire Federation.    The ever consistent John King won a further 7 trophies and 4 1sts (including the Y.B Average), while Stephen Selfridge annexed 5 trophies (including the Combines average) which he has won 3 times out of the last 4 years.          On a sadder note, the late Chick Mcginty won 3 trophies after a fine season , and finally Jim Cassidy won the shield for O.B. average runner up , after a good SNFC season with 4 certificates out of four races.  .

Wullie McDonald(L) with guest Tom McLeod

Jim Latimer (L) with guest John Duthie

John King(L) with guest John Hood

Alan Selfridge (L) with guest John Bosworth 

Jim "Butch "Cassidy with club President Jim Latimer(Someone must have told Butch it was his round)


Click here to see the List of this years winners

The  members would like to thank all who attended and supported the night.


Thanks to Douglas Telfer and Jim Hannah  for the information and photos.Two top people who go out of their way for others.


Tom Corrie jnr

Lanarkshire Press Officer