Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Lanarkshire Fed Kelso 27-08-19

Lanarkshire Federation Kelso Race.


Lanarkshire members like most up and down the country have had some very poor weather to deal with over the last few weeks. Thunderstorms throughout the country has made life very difficult! The race programme can’t progress as it should for this period of weather making training  very difficult or even letting them out the loft We arrived at the weekend with the forecast unpredictable, but we managed to get a race for those who made the decision to race.

The convoy of 3,600 and 14 Fauldhouse baskets were released at 07 30am in a west wind turning fresh on route. The journey of 63 miles was covered by the winning pigeons on a velocity of over 1200s


The winners are the brilliant partnership of GWP Macaloney of Airdrie who blow the competition away, taking the first thirteen in the section and the Open.

It really is remarkable as the all-time federation Champions have had a slow start to their YB programme. This shows their ability to bounce back in spectacular style.

Paul Macaloney with his latest federation winner Brave Angel bred out of Camelot their top Vanderabelle breeder


Well done Wullie and Paul on another brilliant performance.


The race appeared to be a steady affair with some good returns and others not so.

With most birds below the 1000ypm it will give them a good steady flight and hopefully help them for the future.


Around the clubs



1st,2nd,3rd4th,5th GWP Macaloney


Lanarkshire Social Circle

1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th GWP Macaloney




1st.2nd,3rd,4th  D Mitchell & Son

Danny Mitchell wins Clarkston & Dist




1st A Nelson

2nd ,3rd,4th,5th J Green &Son

Alan Nelson (R)wins Burnbank club



1st, 2nd T Greenfield

3rd D Burnside

Tam Greenfield wins Lanark & Dist




1st W Strang

2nd,3rd,4th,5th J Cameron



1st, 2nd, 3rd C & E McMillan

4th M Findlay

5th A Wilkie

Callum McMillan wins Carluke




1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th E Robin  jnr

Eddie Robin Jnr is having a terrific season and wins Cambuslang


Uddingston & Dist

1st W Strang

2nd, 3rd, 4th 5th J Cameron




1st, 2nd W Semple

3rd , 4th ,5th Tallis & McDonagh

Wullie Semple (R) wins Blantyre




1st, 2nd, 3rd C Gray

Colin Gray wins Chryston




1st,5th  J King

2nd J Boyle

3rd,4th C Murphy

John King wins Dalziel




1st ,2nd,5th W Ramage

3rd A Barnes

4th W Lennox

Billy Ramage wins Larkhall




1st,2nd J Shaw

3rd,4th M Krivokapic

5th T McQuire


New Stevenson


1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th JJK Gillon

Josey Gillon (L) wins New Stevenson




1st W Smart

2nd T McGinn

3rd K McDonald

4th,5th Eadie & Kelly 




1st,4th  Lumsden,Colligan & Hope

2nd Wilson & Mackie

3rd C & C Smith

Lumsden,Colligan & Hope win Fauldhouse club





1st   W Smart

2nd T McGinn

3rd K Mac Donald

4th,5th Eadie & Kelly

Wullie Smart wins Newmains & Cambusnethan clubs



Lanarkshire Federation section winners


Centre 66 sent 1486


1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th GWP Macaloney


West section 40 sent 1037


1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th E Robin jnr


East  section 36 sent 1096


1st W Smart

2nd T McGinn

3rd K McDonald

4th ,5th Eadie & Kelly


Average Boards


Combine Averages


1st J Cullen 1233

2nd GWP Macaloney 1221

3rd G Mann 1206

4th A Nelson 1205

5th J & K Miller 1204


Young Bird Average


1st Tallis & McDonagh 1139

2nd I Rankin 1075

3rd J Forsyth 1055

4th J & K Miller 1048

5th E Robin jnr 1045

Jim Forsyth wins Coatbridge


George Lightbody wins Low Waters