Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

2014 Presentation Night - The X Factor




Tom Corrie


Federation Champion 2014 - Gareth Rankin

What makes a good night? Organisation? Yes. The right environment? Yes. Good atmosphere? Yes. Great food? Yes. Full house? Yes. These are all the factors that make a really good night and that is what we got at the Lanarkshire Federation premier night out in the Tannochside Miners Welfare in the heart of Lanarkshire country on 11th October.


The atmosphere was just right with a mixture of presenting, food, talking pigeon, dancing and singing; the balance was just right. Our President John Quinn really got the night flowing and with the rest of the committee behind him the night was always going to be a winner. The trophies were looking magnificent and everyone receiving a trophy looked very proud to walk the floor to the accolade of the hall. I felt the night flowed quicker than a tail wind from Kelso - that is always a good sign of a great night! The karaoke at the end was something special with some class acts from each of the sections of the federation up giving a great turn - this being the X Factor. The dance floor was abuzz with some Strictly Come Dancing moves - ha ha! Thanks again to the committee and their partners for all their hard work that made for a special night. Special thanks to Ian Mowbray (Lanarkshire web site administrator) for presenting the trophies.


This year’s winners

1st up to the table was Davie Love of Airdrie & Dist, Centre Section winning the Heart Foundation Trophy for winning 1st Fed Appleby, 3rd May with his Champion Blue Cock SU 13 M 2293 beating 7662 birds and again 1st Fed Uttoxeter 3642 birds on 26th May, What a pigeon.


Next was Wilson & Cairns of Cambusnethan & Morningside club, East Section winning Wm Rae Mem Trophy for 1st Fed Warwick on 31st May against 3018 birds.


J & N Barlow of Glenmavis club, Centre section win 1st Fed Otterburn 11th May against 5636 birds and the Beltane Stable Colour Photo.


T Richardson of Newmains club, East section wins the Sam Rodgers Trophy for the best average Ypres and the first 5 young bird races and also the East section average trophy.


McCormick & Hughes of Uddingston & Dist win the J Cameron colour photo for winning 1st Fed Upper Heyford on 8th June against 1215 birds and also the Centre section combine average trophy.


W Gordon of Cambuslang club, West section wins the Campbell trophy for 1st Ypres with his cracking Blue hen also winning the section in the SNFC, also the Shell & BP trophy for the best two bird average Ypres race. The Rodger trophy for the best young bird average in the west section, also the GWP Macaloney colour photo for winning 1st Fed Ypres.


George Mann of Airdrie & Dist ,Centre section wins the W Findlay trophy for the best opposite sex in the young bird open race from Uttoxeter on 7th Sept.


S Selfridge of Dalziel club, Centre section wins the T Robertson trophy for 1st Fed Young Bird Uttoxeter, Lanarkshire Social Circle for the lowest winning velocity 1st Fed from Uttoxeter 7th Sept and J Quinn trophy for the longest flown young bird race Uttoxeter 7th Sept.


The Late Alex Allison, Lanark & Dist, East section wins the Beattie Trophy for the best opposite sex Ypres.


John Barr of Airdrie & Dist, Centre section wins the Newmains SC trophy & United Taxi trophy for 1st Fed Bedhampton on 21st June, the Duncan Logan Mem trophy for first hen Bedhampton, the J Hannagh colour trophy for winning Bedhampton, the T Brown Mem trophy for winning best Inland average & also the Henderson trophy & Durning trophy for 1st Fed Stainmore on 9th Aug 3775 birds birds and the W Holland trophy for the best average over the first 7 old bird races.


Eadie & Kelly, Newmains club, East section win the R Telfer & Son trophy for the best young bird average east section.


Mr & Mrs Elliot, Carluke club, East section win the W O Neil Mem trophy for the best two bird average in Uttoxeter young bird open race.


Jim Wilkinson of Airdrie & Dist, Centre section wins the Rappold trophy for best two bird average Bedhampton winning 3rd & 4th Open, the Isherwood trophy for 1st Fed Middleton 17th May 7187 birds, the Shepherd trophy for the best average Bedhampton & Uttoxeter. It’s worth mentioning that Jim topped the fed 3 times in his first season. Outstanding.


Jim Hannah of Greenfield wins the W Wilson Mem trophy for 1st LRPF member in the Gold Cup Race winning 1st section 5th Open SNFC Alencon flying nearly 538 miles and also 2nd Section ,Over 5 hours in front of the next fancier in the section.


GWP Macaloney of Airdrie & Dist, Centre section win the Belt Up trophy for the best young bird average centre section with 9472 birds competing.


Next up is the federation Champion loft 2014, Gareth Rankin, Larkhall & Dist, West section wins the J Cowan trophy for the best old bird average 42,384 birds, the Reid trophy for best combine average Warwick, Upper Heyford, Bedhampton and Ypres, the H McClymont trophy for best combined average 67,035 birds competing!!, the J Torrance Mem & the Arrapine trophy for best average Bedhampton & Ypres, the S Anderson trophy for 1st yearling Bedhampton, the Border trophy for first yearling open race Warwick 31st May, the Carriage trophy for the best average Upper Heyford, Bedhampton & Ypres, the west section Combine Average with 23,150 birds competing.

Brilliant season Gareth. Some flying at all distances.


The Individual Section winners 2014 East Centre West

19/04 Otterburn Wilson & Cairns D Taylor J Leggate

26/04 Otterburn Wilson & Cairns A Wood W Millen

03/05 Appleby P Kerr D Love W Boswell

11/05 Otterburn A & J Cook J & N Barlow P Green

17/05 Middleton J Lawrie & Son J Wilkinson W Millen

26/05 Uttoxeter A Wilkie D Love W McFall

31/05 Warwick Wilson & Cairns GWP Macaloney G Rankin

08/06 Upper Heyford Eadie & Kelly McCormick & Hughes E Robin jnr

14/06 Ingleton J Brown S Selfridge P Green

21/06 Bedhampton T Richardson J Barr G Rankin

28/06 Otterburn J Menzies W Graham A Nelson

07/07 Ypres W Smart G Shaw W Gordon

20/7 Otterburn JJM Gillon R Clark G Rankin

26/07 Otterburn K MacDonald J Wilkinson E Robin jnr

04/08 Stainmore Eadie & Kelly Mullen & Campbell E Robin jnr

09/08Stainmore P Kerr J Barr G Baird

16/08 Ingleton W Smart J Wilkinson E Robin jnr

23/08 Ingleton T Richardson G Geddes W Millen

30/08 Charnock Richard W Smart E Porter G Rankin

07/09 Uttoxeter Mr & Mrs Elliot S Selfridge W Millen 

Dave Love (R) with Ian Mowbray

Robert Wilson

John Barlow

Tam Richardson

Mick McCormick & Martin Hughes

Billy Gordon

George Mann

Steven Selfridge

John Barr

Dave Elliot

Gordon Orr

Jim Wilkinson

Jim Hannah

Paul Macaloney

East section winners

Centre section winners

West section winners

Tom Corrie

Lanarkshire press Officer

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.