Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Uddingston Jan14



Tom Corrie

January 2014

The Blackpool Show has been and gone. Did you see our new Geraldy trailer on display? Blackpool is the highlight for most fanciers during the long dark January. As usual I attended with the Corrie clan, uncle Peter and Ray Griffiths. Everyone had a great time with plenty of conversation about the season gone and the one ahead. We will be into February soon, a month when most fanciers look towards pairing their pigeons. The weather has been very mild and the birds are raring to go.

Lanarkshire Federation has progressed well through the winter with continued stability and new members joining the ranks.

Robert Hotchkiss sent me a copy of Uddingston & District 2013 prize winners. Their presentation was held in the Burnhead Bowling Club on Sat 9th November. The guests for the night were Tom & Hazel Steele from Coalburn Club, South Lanarkshire Federation who presented the trophies. The night was very well attended with an excellent buffet provided and the night was enjoyed by all.

Prize Winners

S Owen Trophy for the 1st Yearling timed from Maidstone - won by J & S Carswell

Barr trophy - Best average 1st five O/B average - won by Jim Wood

Mrs C Taylor Memorial Trophy - R/Up Combine Average won by Jim Wood

Jubilee Shield - Most points won over all Federation races won by Jim Wood

Blue Circle Shield & The Smythe Trophy for 1st club Ch/Richards Ybs won by Michael Slater

Old Bird Cup for 1st Club Newbury won by Kevin Doherty

Milnwood Trophy for 1st club Ingleton Ybs won by David Wood

Hyslop Trophy for best average first 2 OB and first 2 Yb races won by Mick McCormick

Sew Quick Trophy for best average first 4 Yb races won by Jim Cullen

Stag Five Trophy for best averages first 5 Yb races won by Jim Cullen

Young Trophy for best average All Federation Yb races won by Jim Cullen

Tunnoch Cup & Co op Cup & O Clark Memorial Shield for 1st Club Ypres race won by Robert Hotchkiss

TFL Trophy for 1st yearling timed timed Leicester

The Belt up Trophy for the winner of best Averages, Maidstone, Ypres & Ingleton and Charnock Richards Yb race won by Robert Hotchkiss

Margelda Trophy for best average Ingleton & Ch/Richards Ybs won by Billy Graham

Torry Gillick Trophy for 1st club Leicester won by Billy Graham

R Hotchkiss Memorial Shield for best average Newark, Leicester, Newbury/Ingleton, Ch Richards Ybs won by Billy Graham

Taylor trophy for best average Leicester & Newbury & Maidstone won by Billy Graham

Teeven Trophy for best average Newbury & Maidstone

T Thomson Memorial Trophy for first club pigeon timed in SNFC Gold cup race won by Billy Graham

A Dalgleish Trophy for best average All Inland races won by Billy Graham

Old Bird Cup for Best averages all Federation Old Bird races won by Billy Graham

Phil Smith Combined Average Trophy for Best Average All federation races won by Billy Graham

Congratulations to Billy Graham on a fine season 2013 from the members, cracking flying in one of the biggest and most competitive clubs in the Fed. Billy has built one of the best distance teams in the Fed.

109 Lanarkshire Federation diplomas were won by Uddingston & Dist members including 3x1st, 4x 2nd, 2x 3rd Open Lanarkshire Fed, 2x1st, 2x2nd, 2x3rd Centre section.

Scottish National Flying Club 2013 achievements: The club had an excellent season winning 30 West section diplomas compared to 12 the previous year. Possibly a National winner next season?

The club would like to thank Tunnocks Bakery for their continued and fantastic sponsorship.

Lanarkshire Social Circle News

Recent show members had an enjoyable afternoon at Newmains at the very first show held by the Lanarkshire Social Circle.
Young Hen Winner John Quinn
Young Cock Winner Gareth Rankin
Old Hen Winner Gareth Rankin
Old Cock Winner J & J Hood
Best in show J & J Hood

Hope this is a start to a good wee day in the future and hope we can get more members along. Well done to A Blyth and H Wallace for sponsoring the classes. Next social event is a Special panel of guests on Friday 7th March.

This year for our annual quiz the club have two quality Welsh fanciers who have been at the top of there game for 20-30 years - Dave Padfield & John Preece.
Avonbridge Hotel
Carlisle Road
19.00 for 19.30
£18.00 - (Quality 4 course meal included)
Contact for tickets
Secretary - David McCaig
Phone 01236 429386 After 6pm
or Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
All welcome to attend.

Billy Graham (R) Top performance loft Uddingston& Dist Club 2013

Meeting up at Blackpool with fellow scribe Mr & Mrs Joe Murphy

It’s true lads, Ray Griffiths does buy a round.

The National winners, John Duthie, Tam Blair, Hardy Kruger, Wullie Macaloney.

Andrew Suckle, Coalburn club, South Lanarkshire Fed, winner at Blackpool Show, Dark Cheq Cock.

D Mathieson & Son, Coalburn club, Dark Cheq hen winner at Blackpool show. This partnership were 2nd Open SNRPC Troyes race over 600 miles.

Andrew Suckle's 500 mile class winner at the Blackpool show

The two Blackpool show winners Malcolm Mathieson & Andrew Suckle

Tom Corrie jnr meets up with Alister Henderson of Langholm, past Gold Award winner

Jimmy McMillan & Alec McInnes enjoying their time at the show - look out the Wylie Brothers this year.

The new Lanarkshire Geraldy trailer on view at Blackpool

Mick Gilligan (Finglas club), Peter Anderson (Wattson & Caldercruix club), Martin Emmett (Finglas Club) & Tom Corrie snr (Clarkston & Dist) having a drink in Gillespies Bar.


Elimar - January 2014