Established 1979 Company Number: 11693988 VAT Registration Number: 284 0522 13 +44 (0)1606 836036 +44 (0)7871 701585

Lanarkshire Federation - Dalziel Club Prize winners 2020 - 06-08-21

Lanarkshire Federation

Dalziel Club Prize winners 2020

Dalziel Prize winners 06 08 21
Dalziel Trophy winners

We eventually managed, belatedly, to present last year's trophies. The decision was made at the 2020 AGM to wait for an appropriate opportunity and we held it in our Clubhouse with members only and numbers restricted to 20.

Dalzell Trophys July 2021 06 08 21
Dalziel Trophies

The Club Champion for 2020 was Jim Cassidy with the Old Bird and Combined Average plus 10 other trophies including two consecutive first prizes at Melton Mowbray and Kettering. An interesting fact is that the Tramontana Ace Old Bird " Logan's Big Hammy" repeated the triumph in 2021.

Jim HannahL with Jim Cassidy 06 08 21                 Logans Big Hammy Ace pigeon 2020 06 08 21
Guest Jim Hannah ( L) with club Champion 2020 Jim Cassidy       Logans Big Hammy Ace Pigeon raced Jim Cassidy

He was hotly pursued by Joe Boyle who won the Young Bird Average and the Tramontana Ace Young Bird with "Jackie's Delight" plus five other trophies including 6 x 1sts.

Jim Hannah with Joe Boyle 06 08 21    Jackies Delight Lowest Winning Velocity 2020 06 08 21
Jim with Joe Boyle                                                                   Jackie’s Delight raced by Joe Boyle

John King, who very rarely misses a visit to the prize table won five trophies plus 3 x 1sts.

Jim Hannah with John King 06 08 21
Jim with John King

Allan Selfridge and Son won the J. McNally Shield for Runner up Old Bird Average plus the John Stewart Memorial for first yearling Workshop. They were also 1st in Kelso.

Jim Hannah with Alan Selfridge 06 08 21
Jim with Alan Selfridge

Finally Young Dean McGregor (and I do mean Young) won the Novice trophy with Willie McDonald collecting 1st Workshop.

Jim Hannah with Dean McGregor 06 08 21    Jim Hannah with Wullie McDonald 06 08 21
Jim with Dean McGregor                                                             Jim with Wullie McDonald

Our guest of honour was the doyen of the pigeon world , Jim Hannah, Blantyre!  How else do you describe someone who has won the section in the SNFC 8 times, bred and raced a Gold Award winner (Glenburn Gold 2016) the first Gold Award in the west since 1997, race controlled for the SNFC, Lanarkshire Fed and South Lanarkshire plus a top Pigeon Photographer for 40 years.  Over the evening Jim was kind enough to reminisce about the Fanciers he had met over a lifetime and the many top pigeons he had photographed. It was a riveting and entertaining trip down memory lane.

Dalziel guest of honour 06 08 21
Guest of Honour and Programme for presentation

Thanks go to all the members and officials who helped to stage the event with a special mention to Joe Boyle and his Partner for the outstanding sandwiches and chicken wraps.

Dalziel front page 06 08 21    Dalziel back page 06 08 21
Front & Back page of Brochure 

Finally Charlie Murphy closed the evening by thanking Jim Hannah and paying tribute to those Dalzell Flying Club Officials and members whose personal efforts had ensured that we did indeed have a 2020 racing season.

Jim Latimer with Joe Boyle 06 08 21
Jim Latimer (Club Secretary with Joe Boyle)

Dalziel trophy winners 06 08 21
List of 2020 trophy winners 

Thanks to Douglas for his continued support of Lanarkshire news

Tom Corrie jnr

Lanarkshire Press Officer